Skip to Content

On the Air...
Now Playing:

Intermezzo   Classical

Thursdays 18:00 - 20:00 GMT-0400 (EDT)
click me

Andrew and the Contessa bring you a melodious mix of romantically inspired music, from symphonies and concerti to nocturnes and tone poems. Luxuriate in a lush variety of works by the masters of emotive music and experience a world where the quality of music is not strained.

Hosted by Andrew & the Contessa

Air studio phone: 434-924-3959
Air studio email:
WTJU Streaming Audio: Listen!
Ogg Vorbis: The easiest way to listen to one of our vorbis streams is to use a vorbis-ready web browser such as Firefox (version 3.5 or later) or Google Chrome. If you see an audio player control below, give that a try. Otherwise, click the stream link to launch your preferred audio application or plug-in.
Aside from a browser upgrade, there are several media players and player plug-ins that can play this open, high-quality streaming format. Among this group, we recommend the VLC cross-platform player. If you own an Android device, try TuneIn, which is available for iPhone, Blackberry, Palm and Windows Phone as well. You can read more about ogg vorbis and media players, or write the webmaster if you have questions or problems.
This Show's Playlist (last or most recent selection at top of list):

updated 19:06:54

  • "Symphony No. 5 in e, Op. 64" {Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY} - Leningrad Phil. O., Evgeny Mravinsky - Tchaikovsky:Symphs. Nos. 4-6 [DG 00289 477 5911: 1961/2006]
  • "Serenade Melancolique, Op. 26" {Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY} - O. Harnoy, cello; London Phil. O., Ch. Mackerras - Tutti Tchaikovsky [RCA Victor RCDJ-68138-2: 1995]
  • "Piano Conc. No. 2 in G, Op. 44" {Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY} - P. Donohoe, piano; Bournemouth SO, R. Barshai - Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 2 [EMI CDC 7 49124 2: 1987]

WTJU is owned and operated by the Board of Visitors of the University of Virginia.
The opinions expressed by announcers or guests on WTJU are not necessarily the opinions of WTJU or the University of Virginia.